Our Members

The Authority comprises 13 representatives from the 11 coastal Local Authorities within its area together with 14 members appointed by the Marine Management Organisation and one member nominated by each of the Marine Management Organisation, the Environment Agency and Natural England. The total membership of the Authority is 30.

Do you have a question for the Chair Person? Contact them at chair@ne-ifca.gov.uk.

Table of members

Cllr Mike Smith Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council
Cllr Rhys FurleyHull City Council
Cllr Paul Stewart Sunderland City Council
Cllr Mark Wilkes Durham County Council
Cllr Ernest GibsonSouth Tyneside Council
Cllr Stephen Harness North East Lincolnshire Council
Cllr Ron Allcock North Lincolnshire Council
Cllr Martin Fletcher Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council
Cllr Shane Moore Hartlepool Borough Council
Cllr David ChanceNorth Yorkshire Council
Cllr John CopseyEast Riding of Yorkshire Council
Cllr Chris Matthews East Riding of Yorkshire Council
Dr Stephen Axford***MMO Appointee
Mrs Donna-Maria Mear MMO Appointee
Mr Graham Collins MMO Appointee
Miss Rebecca LynamMMO Appointee
Mr Gary Redshaw MMO Appointee
Mr Andrew Wheeler MMO Appointee
Mr Michael Montgomerie MMO Appointee
Prof Mike Elliott MMO Appointee
Dr Clare Fitzsimmons MMO Appointee
Mr Kevin Woodcock MMO Appointee
Mrs Rachel HanburyMMO Appointee
Mr Andrew FaichneyMMO Appointee
Mr Andrew Newlands Marine Management Organisation
Mr Patrick GrayMarine Management Organisation
Mrs Claire Argent Natural England
Miss Emma Brown Natural England
Mr Martin Christmas Environment Agency
Mr Paul Slater Environment Agency
Mrs Caroline Lacey* East Riding of Yorkshire Council
Mr Steve Chandler** East Riding of Yorkshire Council

* Clerk of the Authority
** Treasurer
*** Chair

All NEIFCA members bring a host of knowledge and unique experience to the team. Please click the below link for the biographies of some of the members who belong to the NEIFCA authority.
Members Biographies

Get in touch with us

Have you got a question? Use the form here to ask us, or contact us directly using our details below.


01482 393515

Town Hall,
Quay Road,
YO16 4LP

© Copyright 2023 North Eastern IFCAWeb Design By Toolkit Websites